Getting back to it - Questions re...a fretless bass??

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including "disappearing" errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Steve Sawyer

Getting back to it - Questions re...a fretless bass??

Post by Steve Sawyer »

Hey all...

It's been a while since I was on here. I've been spending an inordinate amount of time making music instead of instruments. Amazing to discover what my capabilities are now that I'm retired and have the time to practice! Plus I started playing drums almost three years ago, then acquired two Chapman Sticks - a used one last December and a new one that I'd ordered in January of 2021 finally arrived in June. THAT is an amazing rabbit-hole to go down. :D

Anyway, my shop has been sitting there unused, and I've been thinking that I have at least one more guitar in me. But the thing that I crave to build is a fretless bass, maybe a 5-string.

Given the history of fretless basses, I'm thinking that I can go ahead and design the guitar as I would for a fretted instrument, and simply inlay some contrasting material in place of the frets as place-markers instead of frets (I'm thinking an ebony FB with silver inlays).

Is it really that simple, or am I overlooking something?

Also - any special considerations on a 5-string? I was going to make my last build a 5-string, but being a short-scale instrument, I was advised that it was going to be tough to get that low "B" string to behave, which I think was good advice, so I stuck with the 4-string arrangement. This build is going to be a conventional 34-inch scale length.

Thanks!
==Steve==
Barry Daniels

Re: Getting back to it - Questions re...a fretless bass??

Post by Barry Daniels »

Instead of silver inlays for fret markers, I would advise aluminum, because it won't tarnish.
MIMF Staff
Bob Gramann

Post by Bob Gramann »