My Side Port Binding Process (LONG)

Please put your pickup/wiring discussions in the Electronics section; and put discussions about repair issues, including fixing errors in new instruments, in the Repairs section.
Eric Knapp

My Side Port Binding Process (LONG)

Post by Eric Knapp »

Hi, All.

Here's my process for binding side ports. It's just how I am doing it after 5 trials. The next time will be on my current guitar builds. I'll probably change it over time but this is what's working for me now. I am a former teacher so I am going to show too much detail. I can't help it! Sorry about that.

It's starts with this form I made. It's 6 layers of 3/4" plywood that is a tapered ellipse. I don't know what the mathematical name for it would be. Elliptical cone maybe?
side-port-binding - 100.jpeg

It has about a 2º taper. I did the taper and shaping on my disk sander.
side-port-binding - 200.jpeg
side-port-binding - 300.jpeg

Then I trace the ellipse on the side. The pencil line doesn't need to be precise at this point.
side-port-binding - 400.jpeg

Next is drilling a hole and cutting out the ellipse well within the line.
side-port-binding - 401.jpeg

(Continued in the comments.)
Eric Knapp

Re: My Side Port Binding Process (LONG)

Post by Eric Knapp »

Once I have the hole I will use a file to shape it a little.
side-port-binding - 402.jpeg

I shape it with a file until the form fits into the hole to about here.
side-port-binding - 600.jpeg

Then I put self-adhesive sandpaper on the form.
side-port-binding - 700.jpeg

Here I'm starting to use the form to shape the hole. It's like a perfectly shaped rasp.
side-port-binding - 800.jpeg

As I work the sandpaper on the hole the form fits farther into the hole. I move the sandpaper and keep shaping.
side-port-binding - 900.jpeg

(Continued)
Eric Knapp

Post by Eric Knapp »

I keep shaping the hole all around until the form fits like this without the sandpaper.
side-port-binding - 1000.jpeg