sanding sealer

TEST ON SCRAP FIRST! If your question is about repair work, either regluing or refinishing, please post it in our Repair Section.
Sandy Winters

sanding sealer

Post by Sandy Winters »

Please Help!!!

Mohawk has discontinued their Industrial Sanding Sealer (M610-1607) which I have been using for many decades. They have no recommended replacement for it other than their Vinyl Sealer which I use for other applications, but I really don't like it under guitar finishes.

Their Industrial Sanding Sealer was an 'old school' sealer, very high build, very quick dry, and very hard, also slightly amber.

It seems that I remember the original Deft being very similar to old school sanding sealers many decades ago.

Any help greatly appreciated !!!!!!! Thanks
Barry Daniels

Re: sanding sealer

Post by Barry Daniels »

Deft is anything but hard, in my experience.

What kind of top coat are you using? Ever tried it without the sealer? Just thin out your finish for the first two coats to create an effective sealer. It won't build quite as fast so you might need a couple of additional coats of finish, plus the two you are using for the sealer.
MIMF Staff
Clay Schaeffer

Post by Clay Schaeffer »

If I am not doing a base coat of epoxy I "self seal" with the same finish as I am using for top coat (as Barry mentioned). Sanding sealers are designed to sand easily, so usually are a little softer than top coat. Self sealing with top coat helps me avoid having too many partial cans of finishing materials laying around the shop.
Sandy Winters

Post by Sandy Winters »

Thanks for the replies.

To be clear..I'm looking for a product to replace the 'old school' Mohawk Industrial Sanding Sealer.
Alan Carruth

Post by Alan Carruth »

Why replace it when thinned out final finish works as well?
Sandy Winters

Post by Sandy Winters »