Brazilian rosewood square piano lid

Ask your wood and other materials questions here. Please DO NOT post pictures and ask us to identify your wood, we have found that accurate ID is nearly impossible, and such discussions will be deleted. Thanks.
Michael Rohde

Brazilian rosewood square piano lid

Post by Michael Rohde »

Hi all,

I'm new here and hope I'm not breaking any forum rules - please let me know the correct approach if I am.

I have organized a group here in Olympia, Washington that collects free pianos and dismantles them for the materials and components. We recently collected an 1860s era square piano that was being given away. Since it was still functioning as a piano we tried to find a restorer, collector, museum, etc. that might be interested in giving it a new home but were unsuccessful even when we offered to give it away.

I am not a wood expert by any means. The lid appears to be brazilian rosewood planks (not veneer). The dimensions of the lid are 38" x 75" x 3/4" and in excellent condition. We would like to find a buyer for it and are hoping someone here might have suggestions. I'd much prefer that it continue it's existence as musical instruments.

Thanks for any help with this.

Michael Rohde
Presently a member of a group informally known as "3 Geezers Piano Salvage"
Attachments
PXL_20201212_224401726.jpg
PXL_20201212_224228294.jpg
Randy Roberts

Re: Brazilian rosewood square piano lid

Post by Randy Roberts »

As I assume you know, if the flat surfaces are truly solid Rosewood (which the ink, age of the piano, etc., would suggest) then yes, you could likely find a market for the solid wood on any of several guitar builder sites. Even solid wood of 1 1/2 x 6 x 3/8 would find a home in a guitar as bridges.